You are here:

Graduate Studies Faculty

Soheila Amirsoleimani

Associate Professor, Persian

soheila1@gmail.com 801-585-3011 | LNCO 1951

Education: Ph.D., 1995, University of Michigan

Interests: Classical Persian texts, especially from the 11th century AD; history, historiography, & the literature of the early Perso-Islamic world

Gary Atwood

Assistant Professor (Lect.), Spanish

gary.atwood@utah.edu 801-581-5229 | LNCO 1213

Education: Ph.D., 2006, University of California, Irvine

Interests: Peninsular Literature and Culture, Poetry, Queer Studies

 

 

 

 

Shoji Azuma

Professor, Japanese

shoji_azuma@yahoo.co.jp 801-581-7326 | LNCO 1225

Education: Ph.D., 1991, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Japanese studies, sociolinguistics, Japanese linguistics

Karin Baumgartner

Professor, German

karin.baumgartner@utah.edu 801-585-3001 | LNCO 1323

Education: Ph.D., 1999, Washington University in St. Louis

Interests: Travel literature, the historical novel, women’s writings, modern Swiss literature, Swiss Studies, feminist theories 1789-present, transnational literature, cultural transfer

Kevin Blankinship

Instructor (Lect.), Arabic

Kevin.Blankinship@utah.edu 801-585-0639 | LNCO 1226

Education: Ph.D., 2017, University of Chicago

Interests: Medieval manuscript culture, especially conceptions of authorship, reading practices, commentaries and marginalia, Arabic dialect literature, Iberian strophic songs, and animal fables

Alexis Christensen

Assistant Professor (Lect.), Classics

alexis.christensen@utah.edu 801-581-6057| LNCO 1425

Education: Ph.D., 2006, Florida State University

Interests: Roman archaeology, Latin literature & epigraphy, mythology, classical reception, Roman history, Roman & Greek Art History

Talía Dajes

Assistant Professor, Spanish

t.dajes@utah.edu                      801-585-3003 | LNCO 1421

Education: Ph.D., 2013, University of Michigan

Interests: Latin American Literature, Film and Visual Culture

Thérèse De Raedt

Associate Professor, French

therese.de-raedt@utah.edu  801-587-7766 | LNCO 1958

Education: Ph.D., 2000, University of California, Davis

Interests: Modern French literature & culture, film & visual culture, Francophone literatures & cultures

 

Nathan P. Devir

Assistant Professor, Hebrew

nathan.devir@utah.edu 801-585-3000 | LNCO 1325

Education: Ph.D., 2010, Pennsylvania State University

Interests: Religious Studies; Jewish Civilization; African Studies; Cultural Studies

Isabel Dulfano

Associate Professor, Spanish

id2@utah.edu            801-581-4605 | LNCO 1956

Education: Ph.D., 1993, Yale University

Interests: Indigenous Feminist Studies; Business and Culture

Christine Everaert

Assistant Professor, Hindi

christine.everaert@utah.edu  801-581-8381 | LNCO 1215

Education: Ph.D., 2006, Ghent University, Belgium

Interests: Hindi and Urdu 20th century short story literature; Comparative (socio-) linguistics between Hindi and Urdu; Subversive Indo-Pakistani literature; Sufism and Shi’ism in South Asia

Tanya Flores

Assistant Professor, Spanish

Tanya.Flores@utah.edu  801-581-5439 | LNCO 1209

Education: Ph.D., 2014, Indiana University Bloomington

Interests: Sociolinguistics, Phonetics

 

Elena García-Martín

Associate Professor, Spanish

e.garcia_martin@utah.edu 801-581-7591| LNCO 1313

Education: Ph.D., 2004, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Peninsular Literature and Culture, Theatre studies

Rimma Garn

Associate Professor (Lect.), Russian

rimma.garn@utah.edu  801-581-6005| LNCO 1207

Education: Ph.D., 2004, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Interests: Cinema: East European auteurs, parody & satire, propaganda & censorship; Literature: modern Russian fiction & its European models, intertextuality in Russian literature

Katharina Gerstenberger

Professor, German

katharina.gerstenberger@ utah.edu|801-585-7908              LNCO 1417

Education: Ph.D., 1993, Cornell University

Interests: Contemporary German literature; Environmental Humanities; women’s literature; feminist theory; autobiography studies; city literature

David Michael Gruenbaum

Assistant Professor (Lect.), German

m.gruenbaum@utah.edu  801-581-7722 | LNCO 1312

Education: Ph.D., 2012, University of Kansas

Interests: German Language, Culture & Literature; Germanic Language History, Philology & Dialectology; Mythology; Medievalism; Romanticism & Classic periods; Realism; Arthurian Romance; German Film; Old Norse and Danish

 

Gema Guevara

Associate Professor, Spanish

g.guevara@utah.edu  801-585-3005 | LNCO 1203

Education: Ph.D., 1999, University of California, San Diego

Interests: Latin American Literature and Caribbean Studies

Jane F. Hacking

Associate Professor, Russian

j.hacking@utah.edu  801-581-6688 | LNCO 1930

Education: Ph.D., 1993, University of Toronto

Interests: L2 Russian; L2 Phonology; Dual Language Immersion; Language Proficiency

Christine Jones

Professor, French

christine.a.jones@utah.edu  801-585-3002 | LNCO 1319

Education: Ph.D., 2000, Princeton University

Interests: 17th & 18th century French literature & culture, material culture, fairy tales, theater studies

Anne Lair

Associate Professor (Lect.), French

anne.lair@utah.edu  801-581-7534 | LNCO 1212

Education: Ph.D., 2003, The Ohio State University

Interests: The teaching of culture; pedagogy; cultural history; cultural aspects of the French business world; French literature; the symbolism of culinary art in French culture, literature, and art

Eric Laursen

Associate Professor, Russian

eric.laursen@utah.edu  801-581-6013 | LNCO 1954

Education: Ph.D., 1991, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests: Early Soviet literature & culture

Christopher Lewis

Assistant Professor, Portuguese

christopher.t.lewis@utah.edu  801-581-4604 | LNCO 1423

Education: Ph.D., 2011, Harvard University

Interests: 21st-century Brazilian Literature and intersections of music, politics, literature, and cinema throughout the Lusophone world

Joseph Metz

Associate Professor, German

joseph.metz@utah.edu  801-581-7620 | LNCO 1964

Education: Ph.D., 1999, Harvard University

Interests: Aesthetics and affect; the sublime; Austrian and German Realism and Modernism; Literary Theory; Lyric poetry; Contemplative pedagogy and empathy

Erin O’Connell

Associate Professor, Classics

erin.oconnell@utah.edu  801-585-3012 | LNCO 1223

Education: Ph.D., 1996, University of California, Santa Cruz

Interests: Ancient Greek literature and philosophy: Homeric epic, Classical Greek Drama, Pre-Socratic philosophy; Literary and Critical Theory, Reception, Ancient-Modern relations, Global Humanities

Alejandro Quin

Assistant Professor, Spanish

a.quin@utah.edu                              801-587-8524 | LNCO 1219

Education: Ph.D., 2011, University of Michigan

Interests: Latin American Literature and Culture 

Esther Rashkin

Professor, French

esther.rashkin@utah.edu  801-581-8384 | LNCO 1321

Education: Ph.D., 1979, Yale University

Interests: Modern & Contemporary French literature & culture, film, literary & critical theory, psychoanalysis, pop culture

Gerald Root

Associate Professor, French

jerry.root@utah.edu  801-581-4936 | LNCO 1213

Education: Ph.D., 1990, University of Michigan

Interests: Medieval literature & culture, text and image spirituality, manuscripts

Fernando Rubio

Associate Professor, Spanish

fernando.rubio@utah.edu 801-581-4610| LNCO 1930

Education: Ph.D., 2000, SUNY at Buffalo

Interests: Second Language Acquisition, Language Teaching Methodology

Max Seawright

Assistant Professor (Lect.), Portuguese

max.seawright@utah.edu  801-581-7737 | LNCO 1211

Education: Ph.D., 2017, Harvard University

Interests: twentieth and twenty-first century Brazilian book history, literature, and visual art. Additional interests span Latin America and the cultures of the Portuguese-speaking world

Randall Stewart

Associate Professor, Classics

randall.stewart@utah.edu  801-581-7722 | LNCO 1317

Education: Ph.D., 1985, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Interests: Greek fortune telling book known as the Sortes Astrampsychi, papyrology, Coptic language

Mamiko Suzuki

Assistant Professor, Japanese

m.c.suzuki@utah.edu  801-581-7253 | LNCO 1960

Education: Ph.D., 2010, University of Chicago

Interests: relationship between women’s literature and education of the Meiji period in connection to imperial power; Classical Chinese poetry and prose; Confucianism in the lives of elite, educated women

Cindi Textor

Assistant Professor, Japanese

cindi.textor@utah.edu  801-581-4608 | LNCO 1205

Education: Ph.D., 2016, University of Washington

Interests: modern Japanese literature, modern Korean literature, Zainichi literature, empire and post- colonialism, critical race studies, translation

Deberniere Torrey

Assistant Professor, Korean

d.torrey@utah.edu                      801-581-7990 | LNCO 1221

Education: Ph.D., 2010, Pennsylvania State University

Interests: Korean culture, religion, & literature; religion & identity; intellectual history & identity; East-West exchange & influence

Margaret Toscano

Associate Professor, Classics

Margaret.Toscano@utah.edu  801-581-4768 | LNCO 1962

Education: Ph.D., 2002, University of Utah

Interests: gender & sexuality, myth & religion, reception of ancient Classical world in film, Mormon feminism

Margaret Wan

Associate Professor, Chinese

margaret.wan@utah.edu  801-581-6059 | LNCO 1952

Education: Ph.D., 2000, Harvard University

Interests: Popular culture in Late Imperial China; Chinese vernacular fiction of the Ming & Qing; cultural history; history of the book; legal culture; martial arts novels; performance traditions; regional literature; Digital Humanities

Fusheng Wu

Professor, Chinese

Fusheng.Wu@utah.edu  801-581-6056 | LNCO 1315

Education: Ph.D., 1995, Brown University

Interests: Classical Chinese poetry, East-West comparative literature and poetics, translation studies

Last Updated: 10/4/17