Skip to content

Main Navigation

Faculty

 

 

 

 

 

Soheila Amirsoleimani

Associate Professor, Persian

Soheila Amirsoleimani
Associate Professor, Persian
801-585-3011 | LNCO 1951
soheila1@gmail.com

Education: Ph.D., 1995, University of Michigan
Interests: Classical Persian texts; history, historiography, & the literature of the early Perso-Islamic world

 

 

 

 

 

Gary Atwood-Mendez

Assistant Professor (Lect.), Spanish

Gary Atwood-Mendez
Assistant Professor (Lect.), Spanish
801-581-5229 | LNCO 1213
gary.atwood@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2006, University of California, Irvine
Interests: Peninsular Literature and Culture, Poetry, Queer Studies

 

 

 

 

 

Shoji Azuma

Professor, Japanese

Shoji Azuma
Professor, Japanese
801-581-7326 | LNCO 1225
shoji_azuma@yahoo.co.jp

Education: Ph.D., 1991, University of Texas at Austin
Interests: Japanese studies, sociolinguistics, Japanese linguistics

 

 

 

 

 

Yoko Azuma

Instructor (Lect.), Japanese

Yoko Azuma
Instructor, Japanese
801-581-5331 | LNCO 1311
y.azuma@utah.edu

 

 

 

 

 

Karin Baumgartner

Professor, German

Karin Baumgartner
Professor, German
801-585-3001 | LNCO 1323
karin.baumgartner@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1999, Washington University in St. Louis
Interests:
 Travel literature, the historical novel, Swiss Studies, feminist theories 1789-present, transnational literature

 

 

 

 

 

Tim Cannon

Instructor (Lect.), Spanish

Tim Cannon
Instructor (Lect.), Spanish
801-581-7561 | LNCO 1966
tim.cannon@utah.edu

Education: M.A., University of Utah
InterestsLearning abroad, travel, second language acquisition and pedagogy, literature, culture, and Don Quixote.

 

 

 

 

 

Alexis Christensen

Assistant Professor (Lect.), Classics

Alexis Christensen
Assistant Professor (Lect.), Classics
801-581-6057 | LNCO 1419
alexis.christensen@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2006, Florida State University
Interests: Roman archaeology, Latin literature & epigraphy, mythology, classical reception, Roman history

 

 

 

 

 

Talía Dajes

Assistant Professor, Spanish

Talía Dajes
Assistant Professor, Spanish
801-585-3003 | LNCO 1421
t.dajes@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2013, University of Michigan
Interests: 
Latin American Literature, Film and Visual Culture

 

 

 

 

 

Thérèse De Raedt

Associate Professor, French

Thérèse De Raedt
Associate Professor, French
801-587-7766 | LNCO 1958
therese.de-raedt@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2000, University of California, Davis
Interests: Modern French literature & culture, film & visual culture, Francophone literatures & cultures

 

 

 

 

 

Nathan P. Devir

Associate Professor, Religious Studies

Nathan P. Devir
Associate Professor, Religious Studies
801-585-3000 | LNCO 1325
nathan.devir@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2010, Pennsylvania State University
Interests: Religious Studies; Jewish Civilization; African Studies; Cultural Studies

 

 

 

 

 

Isabel Dulfano

Associate Professor, Spanish

Isabel Dulfano
Professor of Spanish
801-581-4605 | LNCO 1956
id2@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1993, Yale University
Interests: Indigenous Feminist Studies; Business and Culture 

 

 

 

 

 

Christine Everaert

Associate Professor, Hindi

Christine Everaert
Associate Professor, Hindi
801-581-8381 | LNCO 1215
christine.everaert@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2006, Ghent University, Belgium
Interests: Hindi & Urdu 20th-century short stories; Comparative (socio-) linguistics between Hindi and Urdu; Subversive Indo-Pakistani literature; Sufism and Shi’ism in South Asia

 

 

 

 

 

Elizabeth Ewaskio

Instructor (Lect.), Russian

Elizabeth Ewaskio
Instructor (Lect.), Russian
801-581-5994 | LNCO 1319
elizabeth.ewaskio@utah.edu

Education: MA., Middlebury College
Interests: Foreign Language Pedagogy, L2 Russian, Translation, Central Asia

 

 

 

 

 

Tanya Flores

Assistant Professor, Spanish

Tanya Flores
Assistant Professor, Spanish
801-581-5439 | LNCO 1209
tanya.flores@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2014, Indiana University Bloomington
Interests: Sociolinguistics, Phonetics

 

 

 

 

 

Katharina Gerstenberger

Professor, German

Katharina Gerstenberger
Professor, German
801-585-7908 | LNCO 1960
katharina.gerstenberger@utah.edu


Education: 
Ph.D., 1993, Cornell University
Interests: Contemporary German literature; Environmental Humanities; women’s literature; feminist theory; autobiography studies; city literature

 

 

 

 

 

Michael Gruenbaum

Assistant Professor (Lect.), German

Michael Gruenbaum
Assistant Professor (Lect.), German
801-581-7722 | LNCO 1312
m.gruenbaum@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2012, University of Kansas
Interests: Germanic Language History, Philology & Dialectology; Mythology; Medievalism; Arthurian Romance; German Film; Old Norse and Danish

 

 

 

 

 

Gema Guevara

Associate Professor, Spanish

Gema Guevara
Associate Professor, Spanish
801-585-3005 | LNCO 1317
g.guevara@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1999, University of California, San Diego
Interests: Latin American Literature and Caribbean Studies

 

 

 

 

 

Jane F. Hacking

Professor, Russian

Jane F. Hacking
Professor, Russian
801-581-6688| LNCO 1954
j.hacking@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1993, University of Toronto
Interests: L2 Russian; L2 Phonology; Dual Language Immersion; Language Proficiency

 

 

 

 

 

Anna Murta Hodgson

Assistant Professor (Lect.), Portuguese

Anna Murta Hodgson
Assistant Professor (Lect.), Portuguese801-581-7737 | LNCO 1211
anna.hodgson@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2018, University of Arkansas
Interests: Portuguese Language and Literature, Business Portuguese, Brazilian Cinema.

 

 

 

 

 

Sae Kawase

Instructor (Lecturer), Japanese

Sae Kawase
Instructor (Lect.), Japanese
801-581-7754 | LNCO 1425
sae.kawase@utah.edu

Education: MA., 2002, Durham University (UK)
Interests: Japanese Language Pedagogy, Language Teaching and ICT, Curriculum Design

 

 

 

 

 

Janet Kerr

Instructor (Lecturer), Chinese

Janet Kerr (Chenghua Hu)
Instructor (Lect.), Chinese
801-585-3004 | LNCO 1324
chenghuahu@msn.com

 

 

 

 

 

Hyesun Kim

Assistant Professor (Lect.), Korean

Hyesun Kim
Assistant Professor (Lect.), Korean
801-585-3012 | LNCO 1223
hyesun.kim@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2018, University of Utah
Interests: Heritage language Education among Korean-American family, language ideologies and identities, Bilingual Education

 

 

 

 

 

Chisato Kojima

Assistant Professor (Lect.), Japanese

Chisato Kojima
Assistant Professor (Lect.), Japanese
801-581-4395 | LNCO 1328
kojima.c@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2019, Indiana University
Interests: Phonology, Psycholinguistics, Second Language Phonology (L2 phonology), Laboratory Phonology, and Instructed Second Language Acquisition

 

 

 

 

 

Natalya Kuznetsova

Assistant Professor (Lect.), Russian

Natalya Kuznetsova
Assistant Professor (Lect.), Russian
801-581-6005 | LNCO 1207
natalya.kuznetsova@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2018, West Virginia University
Interests: Russian language pedagogy, bi/multilingualism, and identity, language ideology

 

 

 

 

 

Anne Lair

Professor (Lect.), French

Anne Lair
Professor (Lect.), French
801-581-7534 | LNCO 1212
anne.lair@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2003, The Ohio State University
Interests: The teaching of culture; pedagogy; cultural aspects of the French business world; the symbolism of culinary art in French culture, literature, and art

 

 

 

 

 

Christopher Lewis

Associate Professor, Portuguese

Christopher Lewis
Associate Professor, Portuguese
801-581-4604 | LNCO 1423
christopher.t.lewis@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2011, Harvard University
Interests: 21st-century Brazilian Literature, Machado de Assis, time studies, intersections of music, politics, literature, and cinema throughout the Lusophone world

 

 

 

 

 

Giuliana Marple

Instructor (Lecturer), Italian 

Giuliana Marple
Instructor, Italian
801-585-3008 | LNCO 1303
g.c.marple@utah.edu

Education: M.A.T., University of Utah
BA, French Literature & International Relations, Brigham Young University

 

 

 

 

 

Joseph Metz

Associate Professor, German

Joseph Metz
Associate Professor, German
801-581-7620 | LNCO 1964
joseph.metz@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1999, Harvard University
Interests: Aesthetics and affect; the sublime; Austrian & German Realism & Modernism; Literary Theory; Lyric poetry; Contemplative pedagogy & empathy

 

 

 

 

 

 

Alejandro Quin

Assistant Professor, Spanish

Alejandro Quin
Assistant Professor, Spanish
801-587-8524 | LNCO 1219
a.quin@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2011, University of Michigan
Interests: Latin American Literature and Culture

 

 

 

 

 

Gerald Root

Professor, French

Gerald Root
Professor, French
801-581-4936 | LNCO 1217
jerry.root@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1990, University of Michigan
Interests: Medieval literature & culture, text and image spirituality, manuscripts

 

 

 

 

 

Fernando Rubio

Professor, Spanish

Fernando Rubio
Professor, Spanish
801-581-4610| LNCO 1930
fernando.rubio@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2000, SUNY at Buffalo
Interests: Second Language Acquisition, Language Teaching Methodology

 

 

 

 

 

Lucía Rubio

Instructor, Spanish

Lucía Rubio
Instructor, Spanish
801-585-0639 | LNCO 1228
lucia.rubio@utah.edu

Education: M.A., University of Utah
Interests: (DLI) Dual Language Education, L2 Assessment and Teaching.

 

 

 

 

 

Shereen Salah

Instructor, Arabic

Shereen Salah
Instructor, Arabic
801-585-0639 | LNCO 1226
shereen.salah@utah.edu

Education: M.A., 2008, Brigham Young University

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yunwen Su

Assistant Professor, Chinese

Yunwen Su
Assistant Professor, Chinese
801-581-5994 | LNCO 1203
yunwen.su@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2017, Indiana University Bloomington
Interests: Acquisition and assessment of second language pragmatics

 

 

 

 

 

Cindi Textor

Assistant Professor, Japanese

Cindi Textor
Assistant Professor, Japanese
801-581-4608 | LNCO 1205
cindi.textor@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2016, University of Washington
Interests: modern Japanese literature, modern Korean literature, Zainichi literature, empire and post- colonialism, critical race studies, translation

 

 

 

 

 

Deberniere Torrey

Assistant Professor, Korean

Deberniere "Bunny" Torrey
Assistant Professor, Korean
801-581-7990 | LNCO 1221
d.torrey@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2010, Pennsylvania State University
Interests: Korean culture, religion, & literature; religion & identity; intellectual history & identity; East-West exchange & influence

 

 

 

 

 

Margaret Toscano

Chair; Associate Professor, Classics

Margaret Toscano
Chair; Associate Professor, Classics
801-581-4768 | LNCO 1968
margaret.toscano@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2002, University of Utah
Interests: gender & sexuality, myth & religion, reception of ancient Classical world in film, Mormon feminism

 

 

 

 

 

Margaret Wan

Associate Professor, Chinese

Margaret Wan
Associate Professor, Chinese801-581-6059 | LNCO 1952
margaret.wan@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2000, Harvard University
Interests: Popular culture in Late Imperial China; Chinese vernacular fiction of the Ming & Qing; martial arts novels; Digital Humanities

 

 

 

 

 

Elizabeth Warren

Visiting Assistant Professor, Spanish

Elizabeth Warren
Visiting Assistant Professor, Spanish
801-581-7591 | LNCO 1313
u6026457@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2018, University of California, Los Angeles
Interests: Contemporary Peninsular cultural studies, Post-Franco Spanish politics, Historical memory, Catalan studies 

 

 

 

 

 

Fusheng Wu

Professor, Chinese

Fusheng Wu
Professor, Chinese
801-581-6056 | LNCO 1315
fusheng.wu@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1995, Brown University
Interests: Classical Chinese poetry, East-West comparative literature and poetics, translation studies

 

 

 

 

 

John Wynne

Associate Professor, Classics

John Wynne
Associate Professor, Classics
801-581-8384 | LNCO 1321
john.wynne@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2008, Cornell University
Interests: Ancient Greek and Roman philosophy, especially of the Hellenistic and later periods; Cicero; philosophy of religion and philosophical skepticism

 
 

 

Last Updated: 7/2/20