You are here:

Faculty

Soheila Amirsoleimani
Associate Professor, Persian
soheila1@gmail.com
801-585-3011 | LNCO 1951

Education: Ph.D., 1995, University of Michigan
Interests: Classical Persian texts; history, historiography, & the literature of the early Perso-Islamic world

Gary Atwood
Assistant Professor (Lect.), Spanish
gary.atwood@utah.edu
801-581-5229 | LNCO 1213

Education: Ph.D., 2006, University of California, Irvine
Interests: Peninsular Literature and Culture, Poetry, Queer Studies

Shoji Azuma
Professor, Japanese
shoji_azuma@yahoo.co.jp
801-581-7326 | LNCO 1225

Education: Ph.D., 1991, University of Texas at Austin
Interests: Japanese studies, sociolinguistics, Japanese linguistics

Yoko Azuma
Instructor, Japanese
y.azuma@utah.edu
801-581-5331 | LNCO 1311

Karin Baumgartner
Associate Professor, German
karin.baumgartner@utah.edu
801-585-3001 | LNCO 1323

Education: Ph.D., 1999, Washington University in St. Louis
Interests:
Travel literature, the historical novel, Swiss Studies, feminist theories 1789-present, transnational literature

Tim Cannon
Instructor, Spanish
tim.cannon@utah.edu
801-581-7561 | LNCO 1966

Yunchuan Chen
Instructor, Japanese
yunchuan.chen@utah.edu
801-581-4395 | LNCO 1328

Alexis Christensen
Assistant Professor (Lect.), Classics
alexis.christensen@utah.edu
801-581-6057 | LNCO 1425

Education: Ph.D., 2006, Florida State University
Interests: Roman archaeology, Latin literature & epigraphy, mythology, classical reception, Roman history

Talía Dajes
Assistant Professor, Spanish
t.dajes@utah.edu
801-585-3003 | LNCO 1421

Education: Ph.D., 2013, University of Michigan
Interests:
Latin American Literature, Film and Visual Culture

Thérèse De Raedt
Associate Professor, French
therese.de-raedt@utah.edu| 801-587-7766 | LNCO 1958

Education: Ph.D., 2000, University of California, Davis
Interests: Modern French literature & culture, film & visual culture, Francophone literatures & cultures

Nathan P. Devir
Assistant Professor, Hebrew
nathan.devir@utah.edu
801-585-3000 | LNCO 1325

Education: Ph.D., 2010, Pennsylvania State University
Interests: Religious Studies; Jewish Civilization; African Studies; Cultural Studies

Isabel Dulfano
Associate Professor, Spanish
id2@utah.edu
801-581-4605 | LNCO 1956

Education: Ph.D., 1993, Yale University
Interests: Indigenous Feminist Studies; Business and Culture

Christine Everaert
Assistant Professor, Hindi
christine.everaert@utah.edu| 801-581-8381 | LNCO 1215

Education: Ph.D., 2006, Ghent University, Belgium
Interests: Hindi & Urdu 20th century short stories; Comparative (socio-) linguistics between Hindi and Urdu; Subversive Indo-Pakistani literature; Sufism and Shi’ism in South Asia

Tanya Flores
Assistant Professor, Spanish
Tanya.Flores@utah.edu
801-581-5439 | LNCO 1209

Education: Ph.D., 2014, Indiana University Bloomington
Interests: Sociolinguistics, Phonetics

Elena García-Martín
Associate Professor, Spanish
e.garcia_martin@utah.edu
801-581-7591| LNCO 1313

Education: Ph.D., 2004, University of Texas at Austin
Interests: Peninsular Literature and Culture, Theatre studies

Katharina Gerstenberger
Professor, German
katharina.gerstenberger@utah.edu
801-585-7908 | LNCO 1960

Education: Ph.D., 1993, Cornell University
Interests: Contemporary German literature; Environmental Humanities; women’s literature; feminist theory; autobiography studies; city literature

David Michael Gruenbaum
Assistant Professor (Lect.), German
m.gruenbaum@utah.edu
801-581-7722 | LNCO 1312

Education: Ph.D., 2012, University of Kansas
Interests: Germanic Language History, Philology & Dialectology; Mythology; Medievalism; Arthurian Romance; German Film; Old Norse and Danish

Gema Guevara
Associate Professor, Spanish
g.guevara@utah.edu
801-585-3005 | LNCO 1317

Education: Ph.D., 1999, University of California, San Diego
Interests: Latin American Literature and Caribbean Studies

Jane F. Hacking
Associate Professor, Russian
j.hacking@utah.edu
801-581-6688 | LNCO 1930

Education: Ph.D., 1993, University of Toronto
Interests: L2 Russian; L2 Phonology; Dual Language Immersion; Language Proficiency

Christine Jones
Associate Professor, French
christine.a.jones@utah.edu
801-585-3002 | LNCO 1319

Education: Ph.D., 2000, Princeton University
Interests: 17th & 18th century French literature & culture, material culture, fairy tales, theater studies

Janet Kerr
Instructor, Chinese
chenghuahu@msn.com
801-585-3004 | LNCO 1324

Hyesun Kim
Assistant Professor (Lecturer), Korean
hyesun.kim@utah.edu
801-585-3012 | LNCO 1223

Natalya Kuznetsova
Assistant Professor (Lecturer), Russian
natalya.kuznetsova@utah.edu
801-581-6005 | LNCO 1207

Education: Ph.D.

Anne Lair
Associate Professor (Lect.), French
anne.lair@utah.edu
801-581-7534 | LNCO 1212

Education: Ph.D., 2003, The Ohio State University
Interests: The teaching of culture; pedagogy; cultural aspects of the French business world; the symbolism of culinary art in French culture, literature, and art

Eric Laursen
Associate Professor, Russian
eric.laursen@utah.edu
801-581-6013 | LNCO 1954

Education: Ph.D., 1991, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Interests: Early Soviet literature & culture

Christopher Lewis
Assistant Professor, Portuguese
christopher.t.lewis@utah.edu
801-581-4604 | LNCO 1423

Education: Ph.D., 2011, Harvard University
Interests: 21st-century Brazilian Literature and intersections of music, politics, literature, and cinema throughout the Lusophone world

Giuliana Marple
Instructor, Italian
g.c.marple@utah.edu
801-585-3008 | LNCO 1303

Joseph Metz
Associate Professor, German
joseph.metz@utah.edu
801-581-7620 | LNCO 1964

Education: Ph.D., 1999, Harvard University
Interests: Aesthetics and affect; the sublime; Austrian & German Realism & Modernism; Literary Theory; Lyric poetry; Contemplative pedagogy & empathy

Erin O’Connell
Associate Professor, Classics
erin.oconnell@utah.edu
801-585-3012 | LNCO 1223

Education: Ph.D., 1996, University of California, Santa Cruz
Interests: Ancient Greek literature & philosophy: Homeric epic, Classical Greek Drama, Pre-Socratic philosophy; Literary and Critical Theory, Global Humanities

Alejandro Quin
Assistant Professor, Spanish
a.quin@utah.edu
801-587-8524 | LNCO 1219

Education: Ph.D., 2011, University of Michigan
Interests: Latin American Literature and Culture 

Gerald Root
Associate Professor, French
jerry.root@utah.edu
801-581-4936 | LNCO 1213

Education: Ph.D., 1990, University of Michigan
Interests: Medieval literature & culture, text and image spirituality, manuscripts

Fernando Rubio
Associate Professor, Spanish
fernando.rubio@utah.edu
801-581-4610| LNCO 1930

Education: Ph.D., 2000, SUNY at Buffalo
Interests: Second Language Acquisition, Language Teaching Methodology

Lucía Rubio
Instructor, Spanish
lucia.rubio@utah.edu801-585-3006 | LNCO 1228

Shereen Salah
Instructor, Arabic
shereen.salah@utah.edu
801-585-0639 | LNCO 1226

Max Seawright
Assistant Professor (Lect.), Portuguese
max.seawright@utah.edu
801-581-7737 | LNCO 1211

Education: Ph.D., 2017, Harvard University
Interests: 20th & 21st century Brazilian book history, literature, and visual art; Latin America and the cultures of the Portuguese-speaking world

Randall Stewart
Associate Professor, Classics
randall.stewart@utah.edu| 801-581-7722 | LNCO 1317

Education: Ph.D., 1985, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Interests: Greek fortune telling book known as the Sortes Astrampsychi, papyrology, Coptic language

Yunwen Su
Assistant Professor, Chinese
yunwen.su@utah.edu
801-581-5994 | LNCO 1203

Cindi Textor
Assistant Professor, Japanese
cindi.textor@utah.edu
801-581-4608 | LNCO 1205

Education: Ph.D., 2016, University of Washington
Interests: modern Japanese literature, modern Korean literature, Zainichi literature, empire and post- colonialism, critical race studies, translation

Deberniere Torrey
Assistant Professor, Korean
d.torrey@utah.edu
801-581-7990 | LNCO 1221

Education: Ph.D., 2010, Pennsylvania State University
Interests: Korean culture, religion, & literature; religion & identity; intellectual history & identity; East-West exchange & influence

Margaret Toscano
Associate Professor, Classics
Margaret.Toscano@utah.edu
801-581-4768 | LNCO 1417

Education: Ph.D., 2002, University of Utah
Interests: gender & sexuality, myth & religion, reception of ancient Classical world in film, Mormon feminism

Margaret Wan
Associate Professor, Chinese
margaret.wan@utah.edu801-581-6059 | LNCO 1952

Education: Ph.D., 2000, Harvard University
Interests: Popular culture in Late Imperial China; Chinese vernacular fiction of the Ming & Qing; martial arts novels; Digital Humanities

Fusheng Wu
Professor, Chinese
Fusheng.Wu@utah.edu
801-581-6056 | LNCO 1315

Education: Ph.D., 1995, Brown University
Interests: Classical Chinese poetry, East-West comparative literature and poetics, translation studies

John Wynne
Associate Professor, Classics
john.wynne@utah.edu
801-581-8384 | LNCO 1321

 

 
Last Updated: 11/7/18